Tekin wins the Motown Showdown!

The Motown Showdown was held this past weekend at Modesto RC Raceway in Modesto, Ca. Racers from all over the region would converge to the more “traditional” race track surface that is not known for “sugar coating” it’s racing surface. This would be a welcome change for many of the local racers.

2wd Mod buggy is known for being the hart and soul of the local racing community in Norcal. AE factory Driver Chris Jarosz would take the 1st 2 rounds of qualifying with Tekin factory driver Derek Stephansen taking Rd3.

In the single A-main format the top 3 would get out early and gap the field. Chris Jarosz checking out early on. Stephansen would bobble over the tricky triple allowing Tekin teammate Jason Moberly to take over 2nd. Moberly would get into some lapped traffic and fall victim to the triple handing back 2nd to Stephansen. In the end it would be Jarosz, Stephansen and Cody Hughey 3rd. Derek chose to run a Tekin RSX and Redline 7.5 motor in his B5m.

2014 Motown Showdown 2wd

Hughey, Jarosz, Stephansen

The 4wd Mod buggy class has grown leaps and bounds locally. Tekin factory driver Derek Stephansen would sweep qualifying taking all 3 rounds with his Tekin RSX Redline 6.5 powered XBR4 buggy. Stephansen would take the win followed by Doyle Howell and Duan Moore in 3rd.

2014 Motown Showdown 4wd

Moore, Stephansen, Howell

4wd SC truck was dominated by Tekin powered Jason Moberly. Jason would run up front from the tone with his Tekin Rx8 Gen 2 Pro4 HD powered Tekno truck. Mo would check out and lead from tone to tone to take the win.

4wd Mod SC

Luu, Moberly, Jenkins

Tekin powered John Scott would take the win in 2wd Stock buggy with his Tekin RS Gen2 17.5 Redline Gen2 powered TLR 22. Being patient starting from his P3 position John would meticulously put pressure on the leaders forcing errors and take the win on the last lap.

Moore, Scott, Wilcox

Moore, Scott, Wilcox

Tekin powered Greg Stephansen swept qualifying winning all three heats to earn TQ. Stephansen would also cruise to the A Main victory with John Harrison finishing second, Doug Frid third.

40 over

Frid, Stephansen, Harrison

Bookmark the permalink.